Print RSS

Iowa State Crowned NIVC Champions

December 12, 2018

Iowa State claims its first NIVC title and the first one for the Big 12 in the history of the tournament. ISU earned the second NIVC title awarded since the reincarnation of the tournament last season.

For the last two years, a Big 12 program has made it to the NIVC final, a feat that no other conference has done since the return of the tournament last season.

The Cyclones took down the Green Wave of Tulane in a three-set thrasher, capping off ISU’s season with a nine-match win streak. The Cyclones’ win-streak was tied for the second-best streak in the Big 12 this season.

Iowa State was led by NIVC All-Tournament Team MVP Jess Schaben, who posted 14 kills and 10 digs for her fifth straight double-double. Schaben closed out the tournament with an NIVC-record 99 total kills. Josie Herbst finished with 14 kills at .414 hitting and Eleanor Holthaus, another All-Tournament Team member, had 13 kills at .522 hitting.

NIVC All-Tournament Team Members from the Big 12
Candeleria Herrera, MB
Eleanor Holthaus, RS
Jess Schaben, OH

< Volleyball

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This