Print RSS

Texas Earns 2018 Big 12 Volleyball Crown

November 16, 2018

The Texas Longhorns were named the 2018 Big 12 Volleyball Conference champions after a 3-1 win over the Baylor Bears on Friday night. For the second year in a row, UT has brought home the Big 12 regular-season trophy, which marks the seventh title in the last eight years and the 11th overall.

In the program’s history, the Longhorns have secured outright Big 12 titles in 1997, 2009, 2011-15, 2017, 2018 and a share of the title in 2007 and 2008.

As the Big 12 regular-season champion, an automatic bid to the 2018 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship was earned. Currently, Texas ranks No. 5 in the AVCA Top 25 Coaches’ Poll and No. 4 in RPI.

The Big 12 regular season concludes on Saturday, November 24. The NCAA Volleyball Selection show will air on ESPNU on Sunday, November 25, at 7:30 p.m. CT.

< Volleyball

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This